What is The Life Cycle of RPA?

January 26, 2021
What is The Life Cycle of RPA?

RPA are software systems that can complete a task without human intervention. Being a computer software, RPA has a life cycle. Although they are software, the software development cycle does not have a specific structure. It includes different phases of the automation process from the development of bots to their execution. So, how does this life cycle consisting of 6 phases work?

1) Discovery Phase

Discovery phase is the first phase of the RPA life cycle. At this phase, the RPA process architect analyzes the customer’s requirements. Then, a decision is made as to whether the process can be automated or not. If the process can be automated, the RPA analyst team will work with the RPA architect team to analyze the complexity of the process.

2) Design Phase

The steps to automate the task are designed according to the requirements. The RPA technical architect, together with the process architect, develops a “Process Definition Document” (PDD) that contains information about the whole process. They follow the development methodology and develop a strategy to automate the task according to this document. Once all requirements are met, the next step is to decide on parameters such as the budget, the number of people, and the time to spend on the project. Next, the analyst team creates a flowchart to understand the flow of processes. Once the design is completed, the RPA tool is used to start the development of RPA software and automate the tasks.

3) Development Phase

RPA life cycle development

At this phase, the RPA developer creates scripts/bots to automate tasks with the help of RPA tools. There is usually no need for coding to develop these tasks in RPA tools. However, this could change depending on the tasks to be automated.

Robomotion is free software that makes the RPA tool development process quite easy. Besides, the fact that it is a bot that can run on all operating systems (Windows, Mac, Linux) allows you to perform your operations without any device restrictions.

4) User Acceptance Tests (UAT)

At this phase, the RPA development team tests the bots that have been developed. These bots are tested in a pre-production environment. If the testing phase is completed successfully, the next phase will start. If the tests are unsuccessful, the bots are sent back to the development phase to fix the errors found in the testing phase.

5) Deployment and Maintenance Phase

RPA software is placed in a production environment only when they have completed the development and testing phases. Users can use them to automate their tasks after the deployment process. If problems are discovered on the software during this process, they would be sent to the RPA development and testing team. The development team analyzes the bots again and fixes the problems.

6) Execution of Robots

The bots, whose errors are fixed, are executed in the production system at this phase. Bots are checked to make sure the implementation is done according to the requirements. In case of errors that may arise at this phase, the software is sent back to the testing and development team to fix the errors.

© 2020-2022 Robomotion. All Rights Reserved.Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyCookie Policy